Lessons learned in 2011

I was considering the different ways to review 2011 – events? life challenges? And then I thought of it, what better way to review than to discuss the lessons I’ve learned this past year. And I dare say, it was an excellent one.

1. Don’t drink more than 1 Perfect Makers Manhattan in a sitting. Just don’t do it. Enjoy the one, and then have a water – it’s a strong drink.

2. When driving across the country, it’s important to pay more attention to the driving than to the show playing behind you. And don’t over-hydrate (Some lessons you just have to re-learn).

3. When you attend a baseball game the signs that show your relationship to the players on the field will get you on ESPN. So when you make stellar signs – try to look nice as well, people will see you.

4. There is no cure for a hang-over, you just have to wait it out. So if you’re headed in that direction, make sure you don’t have plans the next day till about 3.

5. If you’re going to do something out of your comfort zone, and your friends know it’s outside your comfort zone, you might as well go all out. Take dancing, for instance. We all know I can kill it in the kitchen, but on the dance floor I get all nervous and feel like an idiot – but I have the best time if I just go out there and don’t worry about what other people think about my awesome moves – I’m having a great time!

6. Alcohol is not worth the calories…always.

7. Picking up a new sport is fun – but don’t pretend your awesome because someone passes you the ball, you’ll get hurt.

8. Water skiing is not as easy as it was when you were 12.

9. People on TV make snowboarding look much easier than it actually is. In reality you will spend the first day on your butt, just trying to get up.

10. Friends matter – so do what it takes to make things right when you can.

11. Just because we came from England doesn’t mean we are basically the same as them… It’s another world over there.

12. When you’ve committed to everything possible, you can’t really commit to anything.

13. Twitter is over-rated, but I do enjoy hashtags. The solution? Use hashtags in everyday language. #duh

14. Hosting parties is actually a skill. It’s hard work, but totally worth knowing that people were having a good time.

15. No one, I repeat, NO ONE, can be your everything; only the Lord. People will let you down – not that they mean to, but it happens, but praise God that our Lord never fails. #winning

16. It is important to watch your tongue. Everyone knows when you’re trying to back out of something or justify your words, so just think before you speak.

17. Our God is a good God. He actually does care about you and your life, even the small things.

18. And I know this is cheating cause I officially learned this one in 2012 – but it’s my blog and I’m gonna put it here: Don’t beat yourself up for not performing as well at the gym when you’re recovering from the flu. Or better yet, don’t beat yourself up for not performing well at the gym – just get back out there and keep trying, you’ll get stronger and better in time.

So there you have it. I’m sure it’s not an exhaustive list, but it’s what I could remember as I thought through the year. 2011 was a good one, I got to travel a bit, got a raise, went to weddings, was in a wedding, skied and snowboarded – it was just overall an awesome time of friends and fellowship all the time.

One thought on “Lessons learned in 2011

  1. love this!!! laughed out loud quite a bit. you should be a life coach. and by that i mean- my life coach. you are already half way there anyway. #desperateandneedy

Leave a Reply

