Where am I going?

The question of who I am and where I’m headed seems to be ever-present. I graduated from a top-notch school, I have a stellar job, I go to a church where I have real relationships with the people there, I have a dog and live in an actual house. Yeah, like a real house with a real backyard and even a fire-place! I love where I am. It seems that all the work I had accomplished has finally paid off. By no means have I arrived, but I’m really at peace at where I’m at in my journey through this life. I really am happy. However, when I look to the future I know what kind of woman I want to be. There is the outline of a woman in Proverbs, and really throughout the whole body of scripture that details the woman I want to be. A coworker told me that the average person spends their 20’s creating the ideal person of who they want to become and looking off to the future that someday that person will materialize and I will arrive. Ideally this person will be a ferocious reader, enjoy running, create masterpieces for dinner, and have dinner parties on a regular basis. Then you hit your 30’s and you finally come to grips with the thought of, this is who I am, I actually don’t read, I despise running, ‘create’ is outside of my vocabulary, and well, who has that kind of money?

So this is my thought, and my new year’s resolution: why not create yourself today? Why not be who I want to be, right now? I have been so blessed and now is a perfect time to work on myself, my friendships and my relationship with the Lord. It’s silly to just sit around hoping that one day I’ll really be an intercessor, or the day after I get married or have children, miraculously I can cook. But if I wake up today, and make goals I can accomplish, then little by little God can make me into the person He wants me to be. So here’s the resolution: Every day is a new start. Not every January 1st. Every day. If His mercies are new every morning, then why don’t I really take Him for His word. That and tithing. I really do need to get better about tithing. But for real, what if every day I decide, today I’m going to be the woman I’ve dreamed of becoming; I’m going to be the woman God created me to be! I don’t need to wait to have a husband and kids to find the fulness of life or my purpose! I already have Him!

So there you have it. It’s all about a new day.

I talked to Danielle Cook the other day, and she put into words the feelings I am having toward myself, she said, “the only thing standing in the way of you becoming who you want to be, is yourself.”

 

2 thoughts on “Where am I going?

  1. so true, emily! i’ve been walking through the same idea, that each day is a new start. I know we get all hyped up on ‘new years resolutions’ because we like the thought of being able to start over, but we get that chance every day. Even once you have the husband and kids doesn’t mean you find who your supposed to be. Sometimes I feel like I had an easier time finding my “vision” before I had the hubs and the babe. and oh, does danielle ever know the right words to say. love that girl. and love you!

  2. Hooray! You’re on the right track. But stop worrying, Its not your problem. All you have to do is give HIM complete control then seek HIS will for your life each day and follow it. HE has promised to do the rest. II COR 12:9-10

Leave a Reply

