1 Corinthians

Over the past two days I have been reading a good amount of 1 Corinthians and already have been so encouraged in the Lord. And not only encouraged but also reminded of so many things. There were two verses that really stuck out today.

The first one is 6:11. ‘And that is what some of you were. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.’ The section starts fairly depressing, stating what we had been. But then it continues to tell us what we have become and how the Lord has washed us clean. It’s pretty awesome to know that the work has already been done. I mean, we all know that Jesus died on the cross for all of our sins, and we weren’t even alive at that time. But it was then that He made the way for us. All we have to do is step into Him and believe that we are washed clean. Jesus said it pretty clearly, ‘Go and sin no more.’ I love that the verse is in the past tense. Look, we were cleansed, sanctified, and justified, continue moving forward, what you were isn’t who you are now! That’s awesome.

The other verse was from 9:27. This was a verse I was reminded of. It was at the HA that we all memorized this verse, and were reminded of it every time we walked into the gym (it was painted on the wall). ‘I beat my body and make it my slave so that when I preach to others I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.’ OK, so I typically repeat this to myself as I’m working out, but today it hit me in a new way. My body, I find, often wants things that often go against what the Bible says. I could be wrong, but I think this is a common issue that came along with the fall of man. I really believe that there are tricks and secrets to this life that makes the battle of obedience far easier. Discipline would be the #1 trick. I have been nannying a little girl now for a majority of the summer and every morning she gets up and pitches the biggest fit about getting dressed and making her bed. Every day it’s the same thing. By now she should know that when we get up, getting dressed and making the bed are two things that must be done. She knows that it will be asked of her, so why does she fight me?  But doing those things goes against her flesh. Can you blame her? I hate making my bed. But this goes past the bed issue. Because she has not disciplined herself in making the bed and getting dressed in the morning, this attitude of letting her flesh control her seeps into every other area of her life. I can not ask her to brush her hair, put toys away or sit up to the table to eat without having some huge issue. In everything we do, if we can discipline ourselves to do what is right, then when we are faced with issue that our body might want, we can recognize it and more easily deny our flesh. If we ‘beat our bodies’ into submission under the spirit then won’t we have an easier time doing what is right, on a more consistent basis? I thought the word ‘beat’ seemed a little harsh, but then again, it fits.

So there you have it. The word for the day: Discipline. Well how about word for the year/lifetime. For sure, it’s a hard lesson to learn.

Leave a Reply

